Skip to content
Nucleus Align
Book a call
Who We Serve
Services
No Surprises Act
Specialties
Resources
Company
Specialty

Wound Care Billing Services for Wound Centers and Physicians

Wound care billing is coded by depth and square centimeters: surgical debridement runs 11042 to 11047, selective debridement 97597 and 97598, and skin substitutes, hyperbaric oxygen and compression each have their own rules. We code and bill them against the 2026 CMS files and the NCCI manual.

Wound Care Billing Services for Wound Centers and Physicians at a glance
Debridement codes11042 to 11047 surgical by depth; 97597 and 97598 selective by area
Skin substitutes15271 to 15278 application; flat 2026 rate near $127 per sq cm outside biologics
Hyperbaric oxygenNCD 20.29; G0277 per 30 minutes plus 99183 per session
Compression29580 Unna boot; 29581 multilayer below knee
Hospital clinic visitG0463 on the facility claim
Our turnaroundClaims sent within 24 hours of charge entry

Standards We Work Under

HIPAA, with a signed BAA
AAPC and AHIMA certified coders
NCCI Medicare Policy Manual (2026)
NCD 20.29 and MAC local coverage articles
CMS-1500 and UB-04 claim forms
CMS physician fee schedule and OPPS files

In short: wound care claims fail when debridement is bundled, when a wound is not measured, when a skin substitute or hyperbaric course is outside coverage criteria, and when the facility and professional claims disagree. We check each of these before a claim leaves.

The Wound Care Codes We Bill Most

CodeDescriptionNotes
11042 / 11045Surgical debridement of subcutaneous tissue, first 20 sq cm or less / each additional 20 sq cmStatus A; 000 / ZZZ global
11043 / 11046Surgical debridement of muscle or fascia, first 20 sq cm / each additionalStatus A
11044 / 11047Surgical debridement of bone, first 20 sq cm / each additionalStatus A
97597 / 97598Selective debridement of an open wound, first 20 sq cm or less / each additional 20 sq cmNot with 11042 to 11047 for the same wound
15271 to 15278Skin substitute application by body area and sizeDebridement before it is included
29580 / 29581Unna boot / multilayer compression, leg below knee000 global
97605 to 97608Negative pressure wound therapy, durable or disposable equipment, 50 sq cm splitXXX global
99183Physician attendance and supervision of hyperbaric oxygen, per sessionStatus A, XXX global
G0277Hyperbaric oxygen under pressure, full body chamber, per 30 minute intervalHospital outpatient only
G0463Hospital outpatient clinic visitFacility claim
E11.621 / L97.514Type 2 diabetes with foot ulcer / non-pressure ulcer of other part of right foot with necrosis of boneICD-10-CM 2027
I83.019 / I87.331Varicose veins of right leg with ulcer / chronic venous hypertension with ulcer and inflammationICD-10-CM 2027

Modifiers That Matter

ModifierUse
25Separate, identifiable visit on the day of a 000-day procedure such as 11042, 97597 or 29580.
59Distinct wound or site only. Not a fix for debridement bundled into a graft or into the same wound's other debridement.
PO / PNHospital off-campus department modifiers on facility lines; PO lines for G0463 are paid at the PFS-equivalent rate.
GP / GO / GNTherapy modifiers. Not used on 97597 or 97598 billed as non-therapy services under a physician's plan.

Payer Rules to Know

PayerRule
Medicare (national)NCD 20.29 limits HBOT to listed conditions; 2026 skin substitute rate is a flat rate by incident-to supply policy, not coverage.
Medicare MACsCoverage of skin substitutes depends on the active LCD in your jurisdiction, such as Novitas L35041; Noridian wound article A53296 sets debridement documentation.
Medicare WISeR statesWISeR prior authorization for skin substitute applications in NJ, OH, OK and TX; not currently applied to skin substitutes in AZ and WA (Noridian JF). Model runs through December 31, 2031.
MedicaidState programs set their own wound care, HBOT and compression policies; read the state manual before a new product.

Top Denials in Wound Care Billing Services for Wound Centers and Physicians

ReasonWhy it happensOur fix
CO-97Debridement bundled with another code, a dressing change, or a graft procedureRemove the line, or add 59 only for a different wound
CO-50Skin substitute or HBOT without the medical necessity criteria metAppeal with measurements and the policy criteria
CO-167Diagnosis not covered for HBOT, such as a stasis ulcerCheck NCD 20.29 list before the course starts
CO-96Non-covered charge, such as high-compression bandaging for lymphedemaBill only covered indications, with an ABN where it applies
CO-16Missing information on the claim, such as wound area or product detailAdd the data and resubmit within 48 hours
Documentation Tip
Put the wound's length, width, depth and total square centimeters, plus the deepest tissue removed, in a structured field. That one entry supports the debridement code, the add-on units, the 30-day healing comparison and the skin substitute criteria.

What Does Wound Care Billing Cover?

Wound care billing covers five revenue streams that are coded and paid by different rules: debridement, active wound care procedures, skin substitute application, hyperbaric oxygen therapy, and compression. A wound center that bills all five has to match each line to a depth, a wound area in square centimeters, a diagnosis and, in a hospital, the right facility claim.

The professional claim goes on the CMS-1500. The facility claim goes on the UB-04 and carries the clinic visit, procedures and hyperbaric sessions.

Diabetic foot care and nail debridement are on our podiatry billing page, skin lesions on dermatology billing, and flaps on plastic surgery billing.

How Do We Bill Selective Versus Surgical Debridement?

Surgical (excisional) debridement is coded by the deepest tissue removed and the wound area, using 11042 to 11047. Selective debridement of an open wound with a sharp instrument or waterjet is coded by area only, using 97597 and 97598. The two families are never reported together for the same wound.

The October 2026 CMS fee schedule file (RVU26D) lists all of these with status A. Codes 11042, 11043 and 11044 cover subcutaneous tissue, muscle or fascia, and bone, each for the first 20 sq cm or less, with a 000-day global period. Codes 11045, 11046 and 11047 are the matching add-ons for each additional 20 sq cm and carry a ZZZ global. Code 97597 covers the first 20 sq cm or less of selective debridement of an open wound and carries a 000 global, and 97598 is its add-on for each additional 20 sq cm.

What was removedFirst 20 sq cm or lessEach additional 20 sq cm
Subcutaneous tissue (surgical)1104211045
Muscle and/or fascia (surgical)1104311046
Bone (surgical)1104411047
Devitalized tissue, selective, open wound9759797598

The wound area sets the add-on units, so the chart measurement has to match the claim.

Chapter XI of the 2026 NCCI Policy Manual says debridement codes 97597 to 97602 are not reported with surgical debridement 11042 to 11047 for the same wound. Chapter III says debridement of a skin wound before a graft or skin substitute is included in the graft or skin substitute procedure and is not reported separately.

The 2026 NCCI manual still names 97602 (non-selective debridement). It is not in the October 2026 fee schedule file, so confirm its status with the payer before billing it.

Which Active Wound Care Codes Does a Wound Center Use Besides Debridement?

The other active wound care codes are negative pressure wound therapy (97605 to 97608), low-frequency ultrasound (97610) and whirlpool (97022), all status A in the October 2026 fee schedule file.

CodeWhat it coversRule that causes denials
97605 / 97606Negative pressure wound therapy with durable equipment, 50 sq cm or less / over 50Choose by total wound area at the session
97607 / 97608Negative pressure therapy with disposable equipment, same area splitChapter 4 of the Claims Processing Manual says these replaced G0456 and G0457 from January 1, 2015
97610Low-frequency, non-contact ultrasound, per dayNCCI chapter XI: not reported for the same wound with 97597 to 97606 or 11042 to 11047

Dressing changes are not billable. Noridian's billing article A53296 (revision effective March 5, 2026) says a dressing change cannot be billed as debridement or any other wound care service, and topical applications are included in the procedure payment.

The same article says only a physician or nonphysician practitioner can bill an E/M visit and the 11000 series codes; hospital staff cannot furnish them as incident-to. Claims Processing Manual chapter 4 section 200.4 lists 97597 and 97598 as "sometimes therapy" codes. Billed as non-therapy services under OPPS, they carry no GP, GO or GN modifier and no therapy revenue code 042x, 043x or 044x.

How Are Skin Substitutes Billed and Paid in 2026?

For 2026, Medicare pays for most skin substitutes as incident-to supplies at a flat rate, not as separately priced biologicals. The CY 2026 physician fee schedule final rule (90 FR 49266) set an initial rate of approximately $127.28 per square centimeter, before geographic adjustment, for skin substitutes in the non-facility setting. Products approved as biologicals under section 351 of the Public Health Service Act stay under average sales price payment.

Hospital outpatient departments follow the same policy. The CY 2026 OPPS final rule (November 25, 2025) created APC 6000 for PMA products, APC 6001 for 510(k) products and APC 6002 for registered 361 HCT/P products, each with an initial rate of $127.14 and status indicator S1 for separate payment.

ItemWhat the 2026 rules saySource
Application procedureCPT 15271 to 15278, coded by body area and total wound size, first 25 sq cm then each additional 25 sq cm; status A in RVU26DRVU26D; CMS WISeR guide Table A13
ProductHCPCS Q-code per product, per sq cm; the October 2026 file shows Q4101 (Apligraf) and Q4102 (Oasis) as add-on codesCMS HCPCS October 2026 file
Non-office rateSingle rate by FDA category group; three OPPS APCs 6000 to 6002CY 2026 OPPS final rule
Not in sheet formPriced by the MACCY 2026 PFS final rule

Payment is not coverage. The final rule says a product's place in a payment file does not mean CMS or its contractors found it reasonable and necessary; your MAC decides coverage.

What Do the MAC Rules Require Before a Skin Substitute Is Applied?

The MAC skin substitute rules that were due January 1, 2026 did not take effect, so the older local policies still govern. CMS's WISeR operational guide (version 7.0, July 24, 2026) says the Noridian (JF) policy was withdrawn and that the change "does not impact LCDs for skin substitutes already in effect before January 1, 2026."

Novitas LCD L35041, Application of Bioengineered Skin Substitutes to Lower Extremity Chronic Non-Healing Wounds, is an example that is still in force (revision effective September 26, 2019 on the Medicare Coverage Database). It is built around the chronic ulcer, and the requirements are specific.

Requirement in L35041What the chart must show
Failed responseMore than 4 weeks of documented standard care for a diabetic foot ulcer, with the interventions that failed
Wound characteristicsSkin deficit of at least 1.0 sq cm, clean, free of necrotic debris, clean granular base, no exposed tendon, muscle, joint capsule or bone
CirculationAdequate blood flow on exam, for example an ankle-brachial index of at least 0.60 and toe pressure over 30 mmHg
DiabetesType 1 or type 2 diabetes diagnosis and documented medical management for a diabetic foot ulcer
MeasurementsMeasurements at baseline, after at least four weeks of care, and before each application; response documented at least every 30 days

Under CMS's WISeR model, prior authorization and pre-payment review apply to skin substitute applications with diabetic and venous leg ulcer diagnoses in Arizona, New Jersey, Ohio, Oklahoma, Texas and Washington. The model runs from January 1, 2026 through December 31, 2031. A guide footnote says skin substitutes are not currently subject to it in the Noridian JF jurisdiction (Arizona and Washington).

What Are Medicare's Criteria for Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy?

Medicare covers hyperbaric oxygen therapy (HBOT) only for the conditions listed in NCD 20.29, given in a chamber. For wound centers the main one is a diabetic wound of the lower extremity. Everything not on the list is not covered, and the NCD names stasis ulcers, decubitus ulcers and cutaneous ulcers as non-covered.

The covered list in NCD 20.29 (effective April 3, 2017) includes carbon monoxide intoxication, decompression illness, gas embolism, gas gangrene, crush injuries, necrotizing infections, acute peripheral arterial insufficiency, compromised skin grafts, chronic refractory osteomyelitis, osteoradionecrosis, soft tissue radionecrosis, cyanide poisoning, actinomycosis and diabetic wounds of the lower extremities.

Diabetic wound criterion (NCD 20.29)What to document
Type 1 or type 2 diabetesDiagnosis, with the wound due to diabetes
Wagner grade III or higherThe grade, with a description of depth
Failed standard wound therapyNo measurable signs of healing for at least 30 consecutive days of standard care
Standard care was actually givenVascular assessment, nutrition, glucose control, debridement, moist dressings, off-loading, infection treatment
Reassessment during HBOTWound evaluated at least every 30 days; treatment stops being covered if no measurable healing in any 30-day period

Topical oxygen is not HBOT. Since April 3, 2017 the NCD leaves it to the MACs, and Claims Processing Manual chapter 32 section 30.2 says no separate physician service is payable for it.

How Is HBOT Billed, and What Does Physician Supervision Mean?

The hospital bills G0277 for each 30-minute interval of full-body chamber treatment, and the physician bills 99183 once per session for attendance and supervision. Chapter 32 of the Medicare Claims Processing Manual says G0277 is available only in a hospital outpatient department. In the October 2026 fee schedule file both are status A with an XXX global.

ClaimCodes and form details (Claims Processing Manual ch. 32, section 30.1)
Hospital outpatient837I; bill types 11X, 13X and 85X; G0277 per 30-minute interval
Inpatient or critical access hospital (not Method I)Revenue code 940 with no HCPCS code; ICD-10-PCS 5A05121 on inpatient claims
Critical access hospital, Method IRevenue code 940 with 99183
Physician or practitioner837P or CMS-1500; 99183 and G0277 paid from the fee schedule database, deductible and coinsurance apply

Chapter 32 says a claim with a diagnosis code not on the NCD list is denied as not medically necessary. Outpatient hospital payment is based on the APC.

NCD 20.29 itself does not state a supervision level. The 99183 descriptor is physician attendance and supervision per session,. Under 42 CFR 410.27, hospital outpatient therapeutic services default to general supervision unless CMS sets a different level for the specific service. Confirm the level CMS lists for HBOT in the OPPS files before you rely on that default.

Example (made up): a 60-minute session under pressure for a Wagner grade 3 diabetic foot ulcer is two 30-minute intervals, so the hospital bills two units of G0277 and the physician bills one unit of 99183.

How Do We Bill Compression Wraps and Unna Boots?

Bill a compression system with the application code, not with a supply code. Code 29580 is the Unna boot and 29581 is a multilayer compression system on the leg below the knee, including the ankle and foot. Both are status A with a 000-day global in the October 2026 fee schedule file, and 29584 covers the upper arm.

Noridian article A53296 says supplies for the Unna boot are included in 29580. It also says treating lymphedema with high-compression bandage systems such as Profore remains non-covered by Medicare.

Three NCCI rules catch wound centers. A lower-extremity ligation code includes a compression dressing, so 29581 is not reported with it. A fracture or dislocation repair includes the strapping, even when the same wrap treats a venous stasis ulcer. And manual therapy such as 97140 in the same region as a multilayer compression system needs modifier 59 or an X modifier on one of the two codes.

A visit on the same day as a 000-day procedure is only paid with modifier 25 and a separate reason. NCCI chapter I says the decision to perform a minor procedure is included in the payment for it. See also CPT 29580.

How Do Wound Centers Bill Facility and Professional Claims?

A hospital wound center sends two claims for the same visit: the hospital bills the facility side on an 837I, and the physician bills the professional side on an 837P.

Under Noridian article A53296, hospitals may bill only G0463 as the clinic visit for dates of service on or after January 1, 2014, and the charge must be the same for all patients. Off-campus departments add a PN or PO modifier. Chapter 4 of the Claims Processing Manual says excepted off-campus departments reporting PO are paid for G0463 at the PFS-equivalent rate, which is 40 percent of the OPPS rate.

Revenue codes are largely advisory. The same article says revenue codes are purely advisory in most instances unless the article specifies them, so match the revenue center to the department that did the work and follow your MAC's billing articles. The only revenue code named in Medicare manuals for this specialty is 0940 for HBOT on inpatient and Method I critical access claims.

How Do We Measure and Document Wound Size for Claims?

Measure length, width and depth in centimeters at every debridement and record the total area in square centimeters. Area and depth drive the codes, so the measurement is the claim. Noridian article A53296 says documentation of selective debridement should name the instruments used and give an objective assessment of drainage, color, texture, temperature, vascularity, surrounding tissue and the area to be debrided.

The note should show the depth reached, the area at that depth, the instrument and the clinician. For HBOT it should show the Wagner grade, the 30-day healing comparison and the session times. For skin substitutes it should show the product, the area applied and the pre-service failed-response documentation.

How We Handle Wound Care Billing

Our AAPC and AHIMA certified coders match each debridement to its depth and area, check the NCCI pairs, and confirm the chart supports the skin substitute or HBOT criteria before a claim leaves. We send claims within 24 hours of charge entry and work denials within 48 hours.

For hospital wound centers we prepare the institutional claim, validate revenue codes and reconcile payments, alongside the professional claim. Denials go through our denial management process, and across clients we recover 15 to 20% of revenue from denials and old A/R. Fees are on our pricing page. To talk through your wound center, book a call.

FAQ

Common Questions

Straight answers from the team that does the work.

Still have a question?

Ask a billing lead directly. A 20-minute call, Monday to Friday, 9am to 5pm Eastern.

01How do we bill selective versus surgical debridement?

Bill surgical debridement by depth and area with 11042 to 11047 and selective debridement of an open wound by area with 97597 and 97598. Do not report both families for the same wound, per the 2026 NCCI manual. Each code covers the first 20 sq cm or less, and an add-on covers each additional 20 sq cm.

02What are Medicare criteria for hyperbaric oxygen?

NCD 20.29 covers a short list of conditions, including diabetic wounds of the lower extremity. That one needs type 1 or type 2 diabetes, a wound due to diabetes, Wagner grade III or higher, and no measurable healing after at least 30 days of standard care. The wound must be evaluated every 30 days during treatment.

03How do we bill compression wraps?

Use 29580 for an Unna boot or 29581 for a multilayer system on the leg below the knee, each with a 000 global in the 2026 fee schedule file. Supplies are included in 29580 under Noridian article A53296. Medicare does not cover high-compression systems for lymphedema, so check the diagnosis first.

04How do wound centers bill facility and professional claims?

The hospital bills the facility claim on an 837I with G0463 for the clinic visit and its procedure and HBOT lines. The physician bills the professional claim on an 837P with E/M and procedures. E/M visits and 11000 series debridement cannot be performed by hospital staff as incident-to.

05How do we measure and document wound size for claims?

Record length, width and depth in centimeters at each visit and calculate the total area in square centimeters. The area sets the units for 97598, 11045 to 11047 and skin substitute add-ons. A MAC article also asks for the instruments used and an objective wound assessment.

06Which codes should a wound care billing team know best?

The core set is 11042 to 11047, 97597 and 97598, 15271 to 15278 for skin substitutes, 29580 and 29581, 97605 to 97608, 99183 and G0277 for HBOT, and G0463 for the hospital clinic visit. All but G0463 are status A in the October 2026 fee schedule file.

07What are the most common denial reasons in wound care and how are they worked?

The usual ones are CO-97 for bundled debridement or a dressing change, CO-50 and CO-167 for HBOT or skin substitutes outside coverage criteria, CO-96 for non-covered lymphedema compression, and CO-16 for missing information. We correct and resubmit, or appeal with the measurements.

08How do Medicare and commercial payer rules differ for wound care claims?

Medicare sets HBOT coverage in a national policy and skin substitute coverage through MAC policies. Commercial plans and Medicaid write their own policies and authorization lists, so we read each plan's policy before billing a new product or HBOT course.

09What documentation does a wound care practice need to support the codes billed?

Keep dated measurements, depth, instrument and clinician for debridement. Keep the Wagner grade and 30-day healing comparison for HBOT, and failed-response notes, circulation findings and the product for skin substitutes. A repeat of the last note does not support a reassessment; the note should show what changed.

10How much does outsourcing wound care billing cost as a percentage of collections?

Our fee is a percentage of collections, and the current range is on our pricing page. It covers the professional and hospital claim work described here, from charge entry through denial follow-up, so you can compare it with the cost of your in-house team.

Talk to a Wound Care Billing Services for Wound Centers and Physicians Billing Lead.

A 20-minute call about your payers, volume and setup. Monday to Friday, 9am to 5pm Eastern.

  1. Step 1 of 3: Your details
  2. Step 2 of 3: Pick a day
  3. Step 3 of 3: Pick a time

Your details

Please do not include any patient information.