Skip to content
Nucleus AlignBook a call
Who we serve
Services
No Surprises Act
Specialties
Resources
Company
Specialty

Plastic surgery billing services: reconstructive versus cosmetic claims

Plastic surgery billing turns on one question that has to be answered before a claim leaves: is the service reconstructive or cosmetic? Medicare excludes cosmetic surgery by law and most commercial plans exclude it too, so the chart, the photographs and the authorization file decide whether a breast reduction, an eyelid lift or a panniculectomy gets paid. We code and document each case to the 2026 CMS files, the NCCI manual and the coverage policy your payer actually publishes.

Plastic surgery billing at a glance
The core questionReconstructive (function) or cosmetic (appearance), settled by the chart
Medicare cosmetic ruleExcluded by 42 CFR 411.15(h), except accident repair or a malformed body member
After a mastectomyGroup plans: WHCRA (29 U.S.C. 1185b). Medicare: NCD 140.2
Breast procedure globals90 days for 19318, 19340, 19342, 19357 and the flap reconstruction codes (CMS 2026 file)
Hospital outpatient prior authorizationBlepharoplasty, panniculectomy and rhinoplasty (42 CFR 419.83)
Our turnaroundClaims sent within 24 hours of charge entry

Standards we work under

HIPAA, with a signed BAA
AAPC and AHIMA certified coders
NCCI Medicare Policy Manual (2026)
Medicare LCDs and NCD 140.2
Women's Health and Cancer Rights Act
Medicare hospital outpatient prior authorization
Payer medical policies and benefit exclusions
CMS-1500 and UB-04 claim forms

In short: plastic surgery claims are paid on proof of function, not on the CPT code. Medicare excludes cosmetic surgery under 42 CFR 411.15(h), local coverage policies set the symptom, photo and conservative-treatment tests, and hospital outpatient eyelid, nose and abdominal skin procedures need Medicare prior authorization. Breast reconstruction after a mastectomy follows its own federal rule.

The plastic surgery codes we bill most

CodeDescriptionNotes
19318Breast reduction (reduction mammaplasty)90-day global; bilateral indicator 1 (modifier 50, one line); needs a symptom record under the LCD
19316Mastopexy (breast lift)90-day global; not covered by the CGS policy unless tied to reconstruction after a necessary mastectomy
19325Breast augmentation with an implantStatus A is not a coverage decision; confirm the indication under the payer policy
19357 / 19340 / 19342Tissue expander, immediate implant, delayed implant or exchange90-day globals; staged work uses modifier 58; implant not reported twice
19350Nipple and areola reconstruction90-day global; usually a later stage
19361 / 19364 / 19367 / 19369Breast reconstruction with a flap: latissimus, free flap, one or two pedicle TRAMInclude flap and adjacent tissue transfer; 15734 not reported with them
15822 / 15823Upper eyelid blepharoplasty, without or with excess skin weighing on the lid90-day global; on the hospital outpatient prior authorization list
15830Excision of excess abdominal skin and fat, infraumbilical panniculectomyFee schedule status R; on the prior authorization list; policy tests apply
30400 / 30410 / 30420 / 30520Primary rhinoplasty (tip, complete, with septal repair) and septoplastyRhinoplasty is status R; all four are on the prior authorization list
14000 to 14301Adjacent tissue transfer or rearrangement, by site and defect size90-day global; includes excision and repair of the same defect
15271 to 15278Application of a skin substitute, by site and sizePrimary codes have a 000 global; add-ons are ZZZ; product paid separately

Modifiers that matter

ModifierUse
22Work substantially greater than usual, with a concise statement and the operative report. Only on 0, 10 or 90-day global codes.
50Bilateral procedure on one line for Medicare when the descriptor is not bilateral. ASCs use LT and RT on two lines.
58Planned or staged procedure in the global period of the first, such as an expander exchange. Starts a new global.
78 / 2478 for a related return to the operating room; 24 for a visit unrelated to the surgery in the global period.
57Visit on the day of or day before major surgery that decided to operate. Not 25 for a 90-day procedure.
GAShows on a Medicare claim that a valid written ABN was given.

Payer rules to know

PayerRule
MedicareCosmetic surgery excluded (42 CFR 411.15(h)); LCDs from your MAC set the evidence; prior authorization for blepharoplasty, panniculectomy and rhinoplasty in hospital outpatient departments, decision in 7 calendar days; NCD 140.2 covers reconstruction after a necessary mastectomy.
UnitedHealthcareCommercial policy MP.007.33 (June 1, 2026): reconstructive needs a functional impairment and proven efficacy, cosmetic is excluded. Breast reduction (MP.004.32) uses InterQual and many plans exclude it except under WHCRA.
Group health plansReconstruction after a mastectomy, symmetry surgery on the other breast, prostheses and complications must be covered under 29 U.S.C. 1185b.
Other commercial plansThe member's plan document decides. Read the cosmetic exclusion and the prior authorization list before scheduling.

Top denials in plastic surgery billing services: reconstructive versus cosmetic claims

ReasonWhy it happensOur fix
CO-50Medical necessity not met: symptoms, conservative treatment, visual fields or photographs missingSend the records the policy names; appeal with the chart and the LCD
CO-96Non-covered charge: cosmetic service or a plan exclusion such as breast reductionCheck the plan; if the Women's Health and Cancer Rights Act applies, appeal citing it; if truly cosmetic, bill the patient under the signed agreement
CO-197Prior authorization absent, the usual reason when a payer requires approval before surgeryRequest before surgery with the full evidence packet; keep the affirmation letter on file
CO-97Bundled line: flap with repair or debridement, 15734 with breast reconstruction, separate implant codeRemove the included line; use a modifier only when the note shows a distinct site
CO-16Claim lacks information, such as an operative report with modifier 22Resubmit with the statement and the report within 48 hours
Documentation tip
Build the packet before the date is booked. Put the dated symptoms, the treatments tried and how long, the measurements the policy names and labelled photographs in one place, then add the approval letter. The same packet serves the prior authorization request, the claim and an appeal.

How do we tell a reconstructive claim from a cosmetic one?

Medicare decides by purpose and function, not by code. Chapter 16, section 120 of the Medicare Benefit Policy Manual defines cosmetic surgery as any procedure directed at improving appearance, except surgery for the prompt repair of accidental injury or to improve the functioning of a malformed body member. The rule is codified at 42 CFR 411.15(h).

The code cannot settle it. A coverage policy from CGS Administrators, which covers Kentucky and Ohio, says current CPT codes cannot separate cosmetic from reconstructive nasal surgery, so each case is sorted by the presence or absence of signs or symptoms. The 2026 fee schedule file shows the same split: upper blepharoplasty 15822 has status A, while abdominal skin excision 15830 and rhinoplasty 30400 to 30420 have status R, restricted coverage with contractor pricing if covered.

Payer or settingHow cosmetic is decided
Original MedicareExcluded by law; your MAC's LCD sets the evidence for functional cases
UnitedHealthcare commercial (MP.007.33, June 1, 2026)Reconstructive needs a documented functional impairment and a treatment of proven efficacy; cosmetic procedures are excluded
Group health plan, mastectomy patientReconstruction of both breasts is required cover (29 U.S.C. 1185b)

Before the date of service the chart needs the symptom in the patient's words and the surgeon's measurements, the conservative treatment tried and for how long, labelled photographs where the policy asks for them, and an operative note that matches the code. A complication of cosmetic surgery can be covered when reasonable and necessary, but chapter 16 says visits a global fee would include are not.

What proves medical necessity for a breast reduction?

Medicare contractors want symptoms that persisted despite conservative care, not breast size alone. Local coverage determination (LCD) L35001, published by Wellpoint Federal for jurisdictions 6 and K, calls the surgery necessary when symptoms interfered with daily activity for at least 6 months despite conservative management, with one of three findings: back or shoulder pain not relieved by analgesics, garments, therapy or weight correction; significant arthritic change in the cervical or upper thoracic spine; or skin maceration or infection under the breast, or shoulder grooving, that did not respond to treatment.

L35001 lists tissue weights by body surface area but calls them guidelines, not rules. CGS in Kentucky and Ohio (L39506) applies the Schnur scale, a table of grams removed per breast for each body surface area, and treats the case as necessary above the 22nd percentile.

Commercial plans start with the benefit. UnitedHealthcare policy MP.004.32 says most of its plans exclude breast reduction except as the Women's Health and Cancer Rights Act requires, some allow it to treat a physiological functional impairment, and necessity is judged against InterQual criteria.

How do we bill bilateral breast procedures?

For Medicare, report a bilateral reduction once with modifier 50 and one unit. Chapter 12, section 40.7 of the Claims Processing Manual says a code not described as bilateral is reported once with modifier 50, and that bilateral indicator 1 pays 150 percent of the fee schedule amount. The 2026 file gives 19318, 19316, 19325, 19357 and 19364 indicator 1. The manual notes this differs from CPT, which uses two lines, so read each commercial policy. An ambulatory surgery center reports two lines with LT and RT (NCCI chapter III, section K.5).

Example: bilateral reduction on a Medicare claim, made-up chart

A patient has 8 months of neck and shoulder pain, strap grooving and a failed therapy course.

Claim line19318 with modifier 50, 1 unit, diagnosis N62 (hypertrophy of breast)
ChartSymptom history, garment and therapy trial, photographs, weights in the operative report

What does the Women's Health and Cancer Rights Act require for breast reconstruction?

The Women's Health and Cancer Rights Act (WHCRA) requires a group health plan that pays for a mastectomy to cover reconstruction when the patient elects it. Under 29 U.S.C. 1185b, which is ERISA section 713, the plan must cover all stages of reconstruction of the breast where the mastectomy was done, surgery on the other breast to produce a symmetrical appearance, and prostheses and physical complications, including lymphedema. Deductibles and coinsurance may apply if they match the plan's other benefits.

The symmetry procedure on the healthy breast is the claim most often denied as cosmetic. Document the mastectomy, the decision to reconstruct and the symmetry plan in one note, and cite the Act in the appeal. UnitedHealthcare states that all its plans cover breast reduction that qualifies under the Act.

Original Medicare is outside the Act. National coverage determination (NCD) 140.2, effective January 1, 1997, allows payment for reconstruction of the affected and the contralateral breast after a medically necessary mastectomy, and not for cosmetic reasons.

How do we bill staged breast reconstruction?

Bill each planned stage with modifier 58 when it falls inside the global period of the earlier stage. Chapter 12 of the Claims Processing Manual says a new postoperative period begins when the next procedure in the series is billed, and that 58 is not for a problem that returns the patient to the operating room, which is 78. The 2026 file gives a 90-day global period to expander placement (19357), immediate and delayed implants (19340, 19342), nipple reconstruction (19350) and flap reconstruction (19361, 19364, 19367, 19369). Modifiers 57, 58, 78 and 79 are on our general surgery billing page.

NCCI chapter III, section J sets three rules that drive reconstruction edits.

  • A reconstruction code that includes an implant is not reported with a separate implant code
  • Flap code 15734 is not reported with 19357 to 19364, 19367 to 19369, 19340 or 19342, because the flap is included
  • Codes 19357 to 19369 include adjacent tissue transfer such as 14000, unless it is at an unrelated site

Which plastic surgery procedures need Medicare prior authorization?

Medicare requires prior authorization for blepharoplasty, panniculectomy and rhinoplasty, plus botulinum toxin and vein ablation, when done in a hospital outpatient department. These categories apply from July 1, 2020 under 42 CFR 419.83(a)(1). Under 419.82(b)(1), CMS or its contractor denies a listed service if the provider has no provisional affirmation.

Category on the CMS listPlastic surgery codes listed
Blepharoplasty and ptosis repair15820 to 15823, 67900 to 67904, 67906, 67908
Panniculectomy and excess skin excision15830, 15847, 15877
Rhinoplasty and related services20912, 21210, 30400, 30410, 30420, 30430, 30435, 30450, 30460, 30462, 30465, 30520

The request goes in before the service and before the claim, with the documentation showing Medicare coverage, coding and payment rules are met. The decision is due within 7 calendar days, or 2 business days for expedited review when delay would seriously jeopardize the patient's life, health or ability to regain maximum function. After a non-affirmation the provider may resubmit. An affirmation is provisional: section 419.82(b)(2) lets the contractor still deny for technical requirements or information not available at the time.

For ambulatory surgery centers, CMS runs a voluntary demonstration for the same five categories; an ASC that skips it faces prepayment review. It began for dates of service on or after January 19, 2026 in California, Florida, Tennessee, Pennsylvania, Maryland, Georgia and New York, and February 16, 2026 in Texas, Arizona and Ohio. See our prior authorization page.

What do Medicare policies require for eyelid, abdominal and nasal surgery?

Each Medicare Administrative Contractor (MAC) writes its own policy, so the test depends on the surgeon's location. Open the policy your MAC currently publishes before building a checklist. These four show how the tests differ.

ProcedurePolicy and MACWhat the policy asks for
Upper blepharoplastyL34528, WPS, jurisdictions 5 and 8Visual fields showing a 12 degree or 30 percent superior field difference before and after manual lid elevation; ptosis criteria include a margin reflex distance of 2.5 mm or less
Upper eyelid surgeryL34411, Palmetto GBA, jurisdictions J and MColor photographs, head not tilted, labelled with name and date; blepharoptosis criteria include a margin reflex distance of 2.0 mm or less
Panniculectomy (15830)L39506, CGS, Kentucky and OhioPannus below the pubis with chronic intertrigo refractory to 3 months of treatment; stable weight for 6 months after major weight loss, 18 months after bariatric surgery
Rhinoplasty, septoplastyL39506, CGS, Kentucky and OhioRhinoplasty for airway obstruction that septoplasty alone would not fix, vestibular stenosis or cleft deformity; septoplasty after 6 weeks of failed conservative care

The CGS policy excludes abdominal wall laxity, diastasis recti, redundant tissue after weight loss without refractory infection or inflammation, and anything done solely for appearance. If a cosmetic procedure shares a session with a covered one, only the covered one is paid. NCCI chapter VIII bundles upper blepharoplasty (15822, 15823) into ptosis repair (67901 to 67908) on the same eyelid; the other eyelid may bypass the edit. Ptosis and visual field rules are on our ophthalmology billing page.

How do we code flaps, wound repairs and skin substitutes?

An adjacent tissue transfer (14000 to 14350) already includes excision and repair of the same defect. NCCI chapter III, section H says codes 11400 to 11646 and 12001 to 13160 are not reported with it, and debridement is included. Extensive undermining may be a complex repair, not a transfer, because a transfer requires adjacent tissue to be incised and carried over. A graft with a transfer is separately reportable when the descriptor does not include grafting. Repairs after lesion removal are on our dermatology billing page.

Skin graft and substitute codes are sorted by size, site and type. The primary code, such as 15271, takes one unit, and add-ons such as 15272 (ZZZ global) cover more area. Debridement before the graft is included.

The product is paid apart from the application. In the CY 2026 physician fee schedule final rule, CMS pays a skin substitute as an incident-to supply when used in a covered application in the non-facility setting or under the hospital outpatient system, at an initial rate of about $127.28 per square centimeter before geographic adjustment for PMA, 510(k) and registered 361 HCT/P products. Non-sheet products are priced by the MACs, and CMS will update rates annually. Coverage and debridement are on our wound care billing page.

When is modifier 22 justified on a plastic surgery claim?

Only when the work was substantially greater than the code describes. Chapter 12, section 40.2.A.10 requires a concise statement and the operative report, and limits 22 to codes with a 0, 10 or 90-day global. The note must say what made the case harder. See our modifier 22 page.

How do we handle self-pay cosmetic cases and the ABN?

For a cosmetic Medicare case, an Advance Beneficiary Notice (ABN) is optional but worth issuing. Chapter 30, section 50.2.1 of the Claims Processing Manual says an ABN is not required for statutorily excluded care, though CMS strongly encourages one, with no option box. NCCI chapter VIII adds that ABN instructions apply to a cosmetic blepharoplasty done with a necessary ptosis repair.

A functional case that may miss the LCD test is different. A denial as not reasonable and necessary under section 1862(a)(1) is on the list where chapter 30, section 50.2 requires an ABN before the service.

For commercial and self-pay patients, the plan document governs. Our workflow is to quote fees in writing, collect the cosmetic portion before surgery and keep it off the insurance claim. When a covered and a cosmetic procedure share a session, we bill the covered one and the patient pays for the rest.

How we handle plastic surgery billing

We read the operative note against the payer's policy before we code, then build the authorization and documentation packet. Claims are sent within 24 hours of charge entry, denials are worked within 48 hours, and our clean claim rate is 95%. Our medical coding team is AAPC and AHIMA certified.

What we do
Sort each case as reconstructive or cosmetic before the claim is built
Prepare prior authorization requests with the policy's own evidence list
Apply 50, 58 and 22 rules and track every global window
Work CO-50, CO-96, CO-197 and CO-97 denials with the chart
What you do
Send notes, measurements and labelled photographs from your EHR
Tell us the plan, including stages and symmetry work
Share fee quotes and signed patient agreements

To go through your caseload and payers, book a call.

Sources
  1. 42 CFR 411.15, Particular services excluded from coverage · eCFR
  2. Medicare Benefit Policy Manual, Chapter 16: General Exclusions From Coverage (section 120) · CMS
  3. NCD 140.2, Breast Reconstruction Following Mastectomy · CMS Medicare Coverage Database
  4. 29 U.S.C. 1185b, Required coverage for reconstructive surgery following mastectomies · U.S. Government Publishing Office
  5. LCD L35001, Reduction Mammaplasty · CMS Medicare Coverage Database
  6. LCD L39506, Cosmetic and Reconstructive Surgery · CMS Medicare Coverage Database
  7. LCD L34528, Blepharoplasty, Blepharoptosis and Brow Lift · CMS Medicare Coverage Database
  8. LCD L34411, Blepharoplasty, Eyelid Surgery, and Brow Lift · CMS Medicare Coverage Database
  9. 42 CFR 419.82, Prior authorization for certain covered hospital outpatient department services · eCFR
  10. 42 CFR 419.83, List of hospital outpatient department services requiring prior authorization · eCFR
  11. Final List of Outpatient Department Services That Require Prior Authorization · CMS
  12. Prior Authorization Demonstration for Certain Ambulatory Surgical Center Services · CMS
  13. 2026 NCCI Medicare Policy Manual, all chapters (chapters I, III and VIII) · CMS
  14. Medicare Claims Processing Manual, Chapter 12: Physicians/Nonphysician Practitioners (sections 40.1, 40.2, 40.7) · CMS
  15. Medicare Claims Processing Manual, Chapter 30: Financial Liability Protections (sections 20.2, 50.2, 50.2.1) · CMS
  16. CY 2026 Payment Policies Under the Physician Fee Schedule (skin substitutes), final rule · Federal Register
  17. CMS Physician Fee Schedule relative value files, RVU26D (October 2026) · CMS
  18. UnitedHealthcare Medical Policy MP.007.33, Cosmetic and Reconstructive Procedures · UnitedHealthcare
  19. UnitedHealthcare Medical Policy MP.004.32, Breast Reduction Surgery · UnitedHealthcare
  20. UnitedHealthcare Medical Policy MP.003.29, Breast Reconstruction · UnitedHealthcare
  21. X12 claim adjustment reason codes · X12

We check every rule, code and deadline against the official source. See our editorial policy.

FAQ

Common questions

Straight answers from the team that does the work.

Still have a question?

Ask a billing lead directly. A 20-minute call, Monday to Friday, 9am to 5pm Eastern.

01How do we show medical necessity for breast reduction?

Document symptoms, how long they lasted and the treatments that failed, because breast size alone does not qualify. Medicare policy L35001 asks for at least 6 months of symptoms despite conservative care, plus back or shoulder pain, spinal changes or skin breakdown. Add photographs and the weight removed.

02How do we bill reconstructive vs cosmetic work?

Bill reconstructive work with the functional diagnosis and the records that prove it, and keep cosmetic work off the insurance claim. Medicare excludes cosmetic surgery under 42 CFR 411.15(h). When both happen in one session, the covered procedure is billed and the patient pays for the cosmetic one under a signed agreement.

03How do we bill staged procedures?

Add modifier 58 to each planned later stage that falls inside the global period of the earlier one. Medicare says a new postoperative period begins when the next procedure in the series is billed. Expander placement, implant exchange and nipple reconstruction each carry a 90-day global in the 2026 file. A return to the operating room for a problem uses modifier 78.

04How do we bill bilateral breast procedures?

For Medicare, report the code once with modifier 50 and one unit, because breast codes such as 19318 describe one side. Indicator 1 pays 150 percent of the fee schedule amount. An ambulatory surgery center uses two lines with LT and RT. Commercial payers vary, so follow each plan's policy.

05How do we handle self-pay cosmetic cases?

Quote the fees in writing, collect before the date of surgery and keep the service off the insurance claim. For Medicare patients, give an ABN as a courtesy for excluded cosmetic surgery, and as a required notice when a functional procedure might fail the coverage policy. A signed financial agreement covers the cosmetic portion.

06How much does outsourcing Plastic Surgery billing cost as a percentage of collections?

Billing is priced as a percentage of collections, and the current range is published on our pricing page, which is the only place we state it. The percentage depends on volume, payer mix and how much prior authorization work the practice needs, and we confirm it in writing before work starts.

07Which codes should a Plastic Surgery billing team know best?

Know the breast codes first: 19318 for reduction, 19316 for mastopexy, 19357 for expanders, 19340 and 19342 for implants and the flap codes. Then the prior authorization codes for eyelids (15820 to 15823), abdomen (15830, 15847) and nose (30400 to 30420, 30520), the 14000 series, and modifiers 22, 50 and 58.

08What are the most common denial reasons in Plastic Surgery and how are they worked?

The common ones are CO-50 for medical necessity, CO-96 for a non-covered charge, CO-197 for missing prior authorization and CO-97 for bundled lines. We match the remittance to the policy and send the chart, photographs and approval letter within 48 hours. If the Women's Health and Cancer Rights Act applies, we cite it.

09How does switching Plastic Surgery billing to a new company work without a cash flow gap?

We take over your open claims and unpaid balances as part of the handoff, so money already owed keeps moving. New charges go out within 24 hours of charge entry and denials are worked within 48 hours. Payers still pay on their own timelines, so the first weeks depend on what is already in process.

10Can the billing team work inside our existing EHR for Plastic Surgery billing?

Yes. We work inside your EHR and your payer portals and follow the charge entry and documentation steps your office already uses. Operative notes, measurements and photographs stay in your system, and we pull what each prior authorization request or appeal needs from the chart.

11What documentation does a Plastic Surgery practice need to support the codes billed?

Keep the symptoms, the conservative treatment and its length, the measurements the policy names, dated photographs labelled with the patient's name, and a detailed operative note. For modifier 22, Medicare also requires a concise statement and the operative report. For prior authorization, add the approval letter.

12How do Medicare and commercial payer rules differ for Plastic Surgery claims?

Medicare excludes cosmetic surgery by law, uses MAC policies for the evidence and requires hospital outpatient prior authorization for eyelid, nose and abdominal procedures. Commercial plans follow the plan document, which often excludes breast reduction unless the Women's Health and Cancer Rights Act applies, and may use InterQual criteria.

Talk to a plastic surgery billing services: reconstructive versus cosmetic claims billing lead.

A 20-minute call about your payers, volume and setup. Monday to Friday, 9am to 5pm Eastern.